SSP Constitution

The Constitution of the South Shore Theatrical Players
(hereinafter called the Group)

1. Aims

The aims of the Group shall be two-fold, as follows:

a. To provide, on a non-profit basis, an exceptionally high standard of live theatrical entertainment for residents of, and visitors to, the South Shore of Nova Scotia, based in the Lunenburg, Mahone Bay, Riverport and Bridgewater area, but not necessarily limited to that area.

b. To encourage and provide opportunities for talented amateurs in the field of the performing arts.

2. Organization

a. The affairs of the Group shall be governed by an Executive Committee comprising the Officers: President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Artistic Director, a non-voting Ex-Officio (Past President) and no more than five (5) Directors whose duties are incumbent upon the Officers.

b. The term of the Executive Committee shall be two (2) years. The Executive Committee will be elected, at the Annual General Meeting, from among the Full members.

c. The Annual General Meeting shall normally be held in the month of June.

d. Only Full members will be entitled to vote.

3. Membership

a. Full membership shall be open to all interested persons, 16 years of age and older, subject only to the approval of the Executive Committee and payment of the annual membership fee.

b. Persons under 16 years of age may be admitted as Associate members only.

c. Associate members are not entitled to vote and will pay a reduced annual membership fee.

4. Rules of Meetings

a. Extraordinary Meetings may be called at any time by a majority vote of the Executive Committee, or by any six (6) Full members. A quorum for an Extraordinary Meeting shall be one-quarter (1/4) of the total Full membership.

b. The Executive Committee may be guided by a majority decision of the Full members attending an Extraordinary Meeting, but the Executive Committee shall not be bound by such decision unless, that majority also comprises a majority of the total Full membership.

c. A quorum for the Executive Committee shall comprise of the President or Vice-President plus four (4) other members.

d. Decisions made by the Executive Committee shall require a two-thirds (2/3) majority.